Getting Ready for NaNoWriMo

I am staring to get excited about NaNoWriMo. I have never done this before so I am not sure what to expect, but I am sure of one thing, it will be a challenge.

I have bought myself a new note book just for this occasion; I like the idea of starting fresh. In order to complete the 50,000 words I will have to write 1,667 words per day. I don’t see this being a problem, but then again it could be.

I have told my family what I’m doing, and they are supportive, I just hope they can keep in mind that I will be in a race with myself to complete my book. It’s easy to say that we understand something, but reality is another thing altogether.

Are you getting ready to participate in NaNoWriMo? Have you done it before? What advice to you have?

2 thoughts on “Getting Ready for NaNoWriMo

  1. The week before is always full of anticipation for me. I know I have work to do in order to leave myself time to write in November, but all I want to do is think about my novel! It’s great that you’re giving it a go this year, and I wish you the best of luck! If you stick to it, you can do it!

    My advice is not to be too hard on yourself. If you have a bad writing day, you may not want to go back to it the next day. And if you skip two days, well… it only gets harder from there. Let yourself have a bad day here and there. Don’t let that dissuade you from persevering.

    And be prepared for Week 2. Week 2 is (typically) extraordinarily difficult. The shine and newness and fun of it has worn off, and mental or physical blocks start to creep in. Realize that it is like that for everyone, and that Week 3 will be better. It will be.

    Happy writing!

    Like

    1. Thanks so much for the tips, I’m sure that I will have those “down” days I just hope I can push through them. So far this week I have cleaned and organized my office where I will write, and I have an outline for my novel. So!!! I’m ready to give it a go. Thanks for the encouragement.

      Like

Leave a Reply

